Former D&GRW depot. The Denver and Rio Grande Railroad arrived in Alamosa on July 4, 1878. The 1893 wood depot that burned in 1907. The current depot replaced it in 1908 with a buff-colored brick building with red tile hipped roof in the Spanish architecture of the time. On the National Register of Historic Places, the exterior remains much like the original, except a 1930 extension created an L-shaped building; plus the 2009 interior renovations now accommodate both ticketing/boarding for the Rio Grande Scenic Railroad and the Colorado Welcome Center, where visitors can obtain maps, travel information, and tourist info. Rides on the Scenic Railroad are east to La Veta or south to Antonito and the Cumbres & Toltec rr. These 154 miles of former D&RG lines now operate as the San Luis & Rio Grande rr (established in 2003 by Rail America / now Permian Basin Railways). Through the 1930's, D&RG was a mainline railroad and a major junction; but with decreasing rail travel by the 1950's the depot was sold to the County. A division headquarters with extensive railroad yards, a large roundhouse and shops, the D&RG narrow-gauge routes had interconnected with standard gauge at the yards. Cargo included supplies and building materials and mining equipment for the burgeoning regional economy plus shipments out of crops of the San Luis valley, gold and silver ore originating from Silverton, Creede, Summitville, etc. and timber harvested from the San Juan Mountains and New Mexico.